To Nap or Not to Nap

I am a professional nap taker. You think I’m kidding? I’m not.

Give me 10 minutes- I can take a power nap. Give me two hours- I can probably sleep through those too, but that would hardly be a nap.

In reality, naps are actually beneficial.

According to a study by the University of Wisconsin and a very odd-looking professor’s interview, people who took a hour and a half nap had much higher learning levels in the day than those who did not take a nap. The study showed that taking a nap during the day can improve you performance on a number of tasks.

And as I mentioned before about that little bitty 10-minute nap. Yup- it’s beneficial too. Even a small nap can improve your alertness and energy.

What I find interesting (and more importantly justification for this formerly guilty pleasure) is that even people who get a full night’s sleep have been shown to function better if they squeeze in a short nap during the day. catnap

So from now on, don’t feel so guilty about taking a nap or if you’ve been putting it off and saying that you’ll only over-sleep, try it out. Find something that works for you. I know that I would not survive without naps during the day. So hopefully this took a little guilt off of your mind for falling asleep in class or at work, you just didn’t take your nap!

Put on some comfy clothes or take off the uncomfortable ones and let your head hit the pillow for a few!

Leave a Reply

