My favorite pumpkin roll

So just because Thanksgiving has come and gone- doesn’t mean that you can’t savor all of your pumpkin favorites. Although I am a huge fan of The Food Network, I found my favorite pumpkin dessert on a different website, and it is a winner.

For every holiday my family celebrates, I love to use it as an excuse to carry out my all-time favorite guilty pleasures, baking. Baking is a passion that I love to pursue. This doesn’t make me a master of the mixer, but I have a few tricks up my sleeve. After I went through my cheesecake phase, overcame the apple pie endeavor, took a stab at chocolate torts and make some cupcakes here and there, I branched out one year to make a pumpkin roll. This was a great decision.

Usually I like to bake something once and then move on to something new and more challenging. This usually upsets family members who had there favorite dessert one year and then didn’t have it the next, but I’ll come back around to the winners eventually. However, when I made the pumpkin roll, I had to do it again! It was just too good to resist.

Usually when I’m searching for something new to bake, I start with FoodNetwork.com and search by season and then by my favorite ingredients until I find something the looks delicious. The key to this is looks, I like to find things that are aesthetically pleasing so that it will be a crowd-pleaser and then a palette-pleaser. This is how I found the roll.

Paula Deen's pumpkin roll Paula Deen, bless her soul, had this enticing recipe but the longer I read the more I realized I didn’t want to mess with all those extra ingredients that didn’t sound good (like rum and English toffee- here’s the recipe if you want a peek). But I knew this was what I wanted to make, so I fell back on my alternative, allrecipes.com.

This is where I found the winning moist, ginger cake rolled to perfection with sweet cream cheese icing layers all rolled into a cute log. For the past two years I’ve made this cake and never has it lasted longer than 24 hours! If you want to give it a try- here’s how to do it (straight from the website):

Pumpkin Roll

Usually how my pumpkin roll looks

Ingredients-

Cake-
* 3 eggs
* 1 cup white sugar
* 2/3 cup solid pack pumpkin puree
* 1 teaspoon lemon juice
* 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
* 1 teaspoon baking powder
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
* 1 teaspoon ground ginger
* 1 cup chopped pecans
* confectioners’ sugar for dusting
Icing-
* 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
* 4 tablespoons butter
* 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
* 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
* confectioners’ sugar for dusting

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 10×15 inch jellyroll pan.
2. In a large bowl, beat eggs and sugar with an electric mixer on high speed for five minutes. Gradually mix in pumpkin and lemon juice. Combine the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and ginger; stir into the pumpkin mixture. Spread batter evenly into the prepared pan. Sprinkle pecans over the top of the batter.
3. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until the center springs back when touched. Loosen edges with a knife. Turn out on two dishtowels that have been dusted with confectioners’ sugar. Roll up cake using towels, and let cool for about 20 minutes.
4. In a medium bowl, combine cream cheese, butter, 1 cup confectioners’ sugar, and vanilla. Beat until smooth. Unroll pumpkin cake when cool, spread with filling, and roll up. Place pumpkin roll on a long sheet of waxed paper, and dust with confectioners’ sugar. Wrap cake in waxed paper, and twist ends of waxed paper like a candy wrapper. Refrigerate overnight. Serve chilled; before slicing, dust with additional confectioners’ sugar.

Let your family, friends or coworkers enjoy this great recipe, and try something new!

Leave a Reply

